Congress Chairs

4th World Congress on Civil, Structural, and Environmental Engineering (CSEE'19)
April 7 - 9, 2019 | Rome, Italy

The CSEE'19 Congress is composed of 3 conferences

International ASET Inc. is proud to present Prof. Hany El Naggar and Prof. Mohamed Shahin as the Congress Chair and Co-Chair for the 4th World Congress on Civil, Structural, and Environmental Engineering (CSEE'19).

Hany El Naggar

A/Prof. Hany El Naggar

Dalhousie University, Canada
Congress Chair

A/Prof. Hany El Naggar is an Associate Professor of Geotechnical Engineering at Dalhousie University with more than 20 years of experience in civil construction, geotechnical and structural engineering and research in Canada and overseas. He has participated in several geotechnical and structural investigations, and is experienced in analysis and design of foundations and soil-structure interaction of buried infrastructure. Prof. El Naggar and his research team has investigated the soil-structure interaction (SSI) effects around buried infrastructure; explored innovative use of tire derived aggregate (TDA) as a buffer zone to create stress arching and reduce demand on rigid culverts, proposed an earth pressure reduction system using geogrid reinforced platform bridging system to reduce stresses on buried utilities, and developed innovative “cellular” precast concrete pipe system. Also, he studied the effect of new structures on pre-existing tunnels considering their current deteriorated condition under static and seismic loading conditions. Moreover, he has developed a simplified technique to account for the group Effect in pile dynamics; and closed form solutions for the moments and thrusts in jointed and un-jointed composite tunnel lining systems, designed several foundation systems ranging from machine foundations subjected to dynamic loads to raft foundations for underground structure, as well as several tunnels and underground structures in Canada, Europe, Middle East, and the United States. The findings from Prof. El Naggar’s research have been reported in more than 90 technical publications covering both experimental and numerical work in the fields of soil-structure interaction, buried infrastructure and concrete pipes.

Prof. El Naggar is the recipient of the 2016-2017 Outstanding Teaching Award from the Faculty of Engineering, Dalhousie University. In addition, he received the 2005-2006 Outstanding Teaching Award from the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Western. Prof. El Naggar won the 2006 L. G. Soderman Award, the 2005 R.M. Quigley Award, and the 2004 Milos Novak Memorial Award. Prof. El Naggar is the current chair of the Buried Structures Committee of the Canadian Society of Civil Engineers (CSCE); also, he is the ex-chair the of the New Brunswick chapter of the Canadian Geotechnical Society; he is also member of the technical committee on buried structures of the Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code (CHBDC). In addition, he is the current editor in chief of the International Journal of Civil Infrastructure. He is a member of several professional associations including the Association of Professional Engineers of Nova Scotia; the Association of Professional Engineers of Ontario (PEO); the Canadian Society of Civil Engineering (CSCE), the Canadian Geotechnical Society (CGS); the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE); and the Engineers Syndicate, Egypt.

Mohamed Shahin

A/Prof. Mohamed Shahin

Curtin University, Australia
Congress Co-Chair

A/Prof. Mohamed Shahin is an Associate Professor at the Department of Civil Engineering, Curtin University, Australia. He has over 25 years of academic and industrial experience. He published over 120 peer-reviewed research papers, two book chapters and a research book. He is an Associate Editor of the Australian Journal of Civil Engineering; Fellow Member of Engineers Australia, Member of the American Society of Civil Engineers and reviewer for more than 20 international journals. Dr Shahin received several awards from Curtin University including: Pro Vice-Chancellor Awards for Teaching Excellence in 2010 & 2015; Vice-Chancellor Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Teaching in 2011 & 2016; and Professional Development Award in 2014. He also received the Prix R.M. Quigley Award (honourable mention) from the Canadian Geotechnical Society in 2013.